Skip to main content

Explore Regions


Northern Sierra

Includes Trinity, Siskiyou, Modoc, Lassen, Shasta, Tehama, Plumas, Butte, Yuba, and Sierra counties.

Land of ancient volcanoes

With lava beds, geysers, painted mountains, rivers, lakes, sagebrush, and waterfalls, the Northern Sierra has it all! At Lassen Volcanic National Park and the surrounding National Forest you can hike Lassen Peak, head into the Ishi Wilderness or take a dip in the Manzanita Lake Area. Drive up north to the Shasta-Trinity National Forest,  head east to McArthur-Burney Falls Memorial State Park, or make your way down to the Plumas National Forest and raft the Feather River.

Did you know?

Mount Shasta is a Compound Strato- volcano and has four major volcanic cones: Shastina Cone, Misery Hill Cone, Hotlum Cone, and Sargents Ridge Cone. There was a fifth cone, Red Fir Cone, which has collapsed since the volcanic cone’s creation.

Learn More

Lake Tahoe Region

Includes Nevada, Placer, El Dorado, Alpine, Washoe, Carson City, Douglas counties.

Jewel of the Sierra

As the name suggests, the Lake Tahoe Region is home to one of the most spectacular lakes in the Sierra – Lake Tahoe. With the Tahoe National Forest, Humboldt-Toiyabe National Forest, and Eldorado National Forest encompassed in this area, there are incredible opportunities to get out into the wilderness. Ski, snowboard, mountain bike, hike, and backpack – the Tahoe Region has something for everyone.

Did you know?

At 1,644 ft. deep, Lake Tahoe is the 2nd deepest lake in the US, and 16th deepest lake in the world!

Learn More

Western Slope

Includes Amador, Calaveras, Tuolumne, Mariposa, and Madera counties.

Home of Half Dome

Yosemite National Park is a must-see. From Horsetail Falls to Half Dome to giant sequoias, there are so many incredible sights in the park. Head north to the Stanislaus National Forest where you can raft down the Tuolumne River or hike one of the 1,000 miles of trail. While you’re at it, take a break and swing by Amador for a little wine tasting.

Did you know?

Yosemite sparked the idea of National Parks with the Yosemite Land Grant signed by Abraham Lincoln on June 30, 1864. It was the first time the US government had protected land based on its natural beauty.

Learn More

Eastern Sierra

Includes Mono and Inyo counties.

Discover the towering tufas

The Eastern Sierra is open year-round with premier skiing, snowboarding and mountain biking mountain at Mammoth Mountain. If incredible hikes are what you are looking for, visit one of the tallest peaks in the US – Mount Whitney. Or head into the Inyo National Forest to find the one million-year-old Mono Lake and check out its magnificent tufa towers or calcium-carbonate spires and knobs.

Did you know?

Mount Whitney lies in the Inyo National Forest and is the highest peak in the lower 48 states, reaching an extraordinary 14,494 feet. Inyo county is also home to some of the oldest trees in the world – bristlecone pines.

Learn More

Southern Sierra

Includes Fresno, Tulare, and Kern counties.

Salute the General

Encompassed within the Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Park, there are mountains, foothills, caverns and even the ancient giant sequoia groves to explore in the Southern Sierra. On the boundary of the park, hike up to Forester Pass, which is the highest peak on the Pacific Crest Trail at 13,180 feet.

Fun Fact

The Sequoia National Forest is home to the world’s largest tree by volume, General Sherman, which is a whopping 36 feet in diameter at the base.

Learn More